#myDubai

I booked my flight to Dubai a year ahead of time. It was one of those promotional airfares people like me get crazy about, but can never make plans in advance no matter how much lead time I have. Book a flight, procrastinate for 11 months and 2 weeks, and go on panic mode 2 weeks before the flight.

I knew, from a few research efforts (as far as my actual efforts would allow me to) that it’s known for its tremendous architecture, diverse culture, and ehemm, captivating shopping scenes. But given all my other pressing priorities and expenses this year, I must admit, I had my fair share of second guessing about this trip, weeks, days, and even hours before I travelled to the airport. It was a tiring battle between my practical self and inner self-proclaimed-wanderlust, but one thing I can say for sure is that I’m glad I pushed through with it. Here’s why:

  1. I didn’t know that a desert can be so beautiful until I’ve seen it with my own two eyes. The camels were so charming I wanted to take one home with me. And here’s one thing I may or may not be ashamed about – I have always pegged Molly’s ANTM cycle 16 camel shot in Morocco, hence my giddiness with all the camel riding opportunity. But of course, I didn’t have enough “fierceness” in me to achieve even 1/8 of that shot, but I’m hyped up I got to ride one still. Oh, and if you think that a sunset by the beach is amazing, wait until you see one on the desert. I tell you, it’s marvelous and tear-jerking in its own right:

Processed with VSCOcam

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_20150207_002147_1

Photos From: Dubai Desert Safari

  1. State of the art structural designs, that everyone who wished to be an architect or an engineer once might burst into tears. Luckily I’m not one of them, though I almost cried anyway. First, because the structures and designs are beyond amazing you’d be grateful someone was so brilliant to come up with the ideas. Second, remember what I said about tear-jerking sunset by the desert? Well, sunset by the beach is not overrated at all, especially when you have the sensational Burj Al Arab on the background:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

IMG_20150211_205403_1

Jumeira Beach Sunset

Photos From: Burj Khalifa, Inside Burj Al Arab, Jumeirah Beach

  1. To die for skyline – you would feel that it’s almost a sin to not fall in love with the city. If you ever find yourself in Dubai, you should absolutely try the Dhow Dinner Cruise in Dubai Marina Yacht Club. You will be presented with a variety of food, and the ambiance is legendary – all the yachts and lighting skyscrapers will make you feel like a million bucks if only for a night:

Dubai Marina

Processed with VSCOcam

Photos from: Dhow Cruise Dinner – Dubai Marina Yacht Club

  1. It will amaze you how they can sustain this kind of place in the middle of a desert. Even if you’re not vain, you will feel like striking your best pose in Dubai Miracle Garden. For your benefit though, I have decided to spare you of my “attempts” and leave them in my computer’s personal folder:

Dubailand

IMG_20150210_202637_1

Photos from: Dubai Miracle Garden

  1. Oh, they weren’t kidding about shopping, from gold to spices, and airport-huge shopping malls everywhere. Dubai will be considered heaven on earth to everyone who can relate to “Confessions of a Shopaholic”; luckily my strict budget saved me from a potential bankruptcy:

IMG_20150208_190644_1

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2015-04-03 21.41.53

Photos from: Gold Souk, Spice Souk, Emirates Mall

So there, gladly I found that there is absolutely nothing to regret about this trip. So go, hunt down that seat sale and explore the magnificent beauty that is Dubai!

Travel date: February 2015

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Moritz says:

    Wow, it’s great to see that you not only explored Dubai, but also took the opportunity to get to the desert. It’s really unique out there.

    Like

    1. Thanks for checking this entry! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Moritz says:

        You are very welcome. Was a great read!

        Like

Leave a Reply

